Contact Us

Give us a call or drop by anytime, we endeavor to answer all inquiries within 24 hours.


Find us

PO Box 16122 Collins Street West Victoria, Australia

Email us /

Phone support

Phone: + (066) 0760 0260 / + (057) 0760 0560

2024 Chancellor’s Dissertation Medal Recipients Announced

  • By HDSIComm
  • June 12, 2024

The Halıcıoğlu Data Science Institute (HDSI) celebrates the recipients of the prestigious 2024 Chancellor’s Dissertation Medal at UC San Diego. This award recognizes exceptional doctoral research based on the impact, originality, creativity, and quality of the work.

Vijay Veerabadran, now at Meta Reality Labs, has been honored for his outstanding research in Cognitive Science. Vijay’s work, guided by HDSI affiliated professor, Virginia De Sa, exemplifies excellence in academic research and contributes significantly to the field.

Blair Bojing Jia, an MD-PhD student specializing in Bioinformatics and Systems Biology, has also been awarded the 2024 Chancellor’s Dissertation Medal. Blair is co-advised by HDSI affiliated professor, Albert Hsiao and Professor Bing Ren. Currently completing the clinical years of the MD-PhD program, Blair’s research stands out for its innovation and impact.

These awards highlight the dedication and hard work of our students and their advisors.

2024 Chancellor’s Dissertation Medal Awardees
  • Herbert Wertheim School of Public Health & Human Longevity Science: Tuo Lin, Biostatistics and Bioinformatics
  • Jacobs School of Engineering: Bojing (Blair) Jia, Bioinformatics and Systems Biology
  • School of Biological Sciences: Amy Prichard, Molecular Biology
  • School of Physical Sciences: Brian Kha Tran, Mathematics
  • School of Social Sciences: Vijay Veerabadran, Cognitive Science
  • Scripps Institution of Oceanography: Yuming Jin, Earth Sciences